This information is part of the Champaign County ILGenWeb Project. If you have reached this site by means other than The USGenWeb Project, The ILGenWeb Project, or directly, please visit the main Champaign Co, ILGenWeb site for more information regarding Champaign County, IL ancestors. Information contained here was submitted by Judy Simpson. Please do not repost this information without the express written permission of Celia Snyder.

Champaign County, Illinois

Index toTownship Histories

  • Ayers - formed from South Homer (no date); named for M. P. Ayers, the agent who sold the land
  • Brown - formed from East Bend in September, 1869; named for William Brown, an early resident
  • Champaign - name changed from West Urbana on April 30, 1860
  • Colfax - formed from Tolono (no date); named for Schuler Colfax, Vice President with President Grant
  • Compromise - formed from part of Kerr and Rantoul (no date)
  • Condit - formed from part of Newcomb on May 8, 1867; named for A. B. condit, the first supervisor
  • Crittenden - formed from part of Philo (no date); named for John C. Crittenden, Kentucky governor
  • East Bend; named after a bend in the Sangamon River
  • Harwood - formed from Ludlow as Sheldon in September, 1869, name changed to Shuck (no date) and to Harwood February 22, 1870; named after Abel Harwood, a legislator
  • Hensley - formed from Champaign in September, 1866 with original designation of Grant; changed to Hensley (no date); named for A. P. Hensley, the first supervisor
  • Homer
  • Kerr - name changed from Middlefork on April 30, 1860; named for Samuel Kerr
  • Ludlow - name changed from Pera in March, 1867
  • Mahomet - formed from split of Middletown into Mahomet and Scott (no date)
  • Newcomb; named for Ethan Newcomb, an early resident
  • Ogden - formed from South Homer (no date)
  • Pesotum - formed from part of Sadorus (no date); named for Pesotum, a Potawatomi Indian
  • Philo - name changed from Hale on April 30, 1860
  • Rantoul
  • Raymond - formed from Sidney (no date); named for Nathaniel Raymond, first supervisor
  • Sadorus
  • Saint Joseph
  • Scott - formed from split of Middletown into Scott and Mahomet (no date); named for General Winfield Scott
  • Sidney
  • Somer - name changed from Pleasant Hill on April 30, 1860; named for Whitman Somers, early settlers [the 's' was later dropped]
  • Stanton - formed from St. Joseph (no date); named for Edwin M. Stanton
  • Tolono
  • Urbana

Back to Main Page